Theses and Dissertations

Issuing Body

Mississippi State University


Dunne, James A.

Committee Member

Dutta, Dipangkar

Committee Member

Moong, Gautam Rupak Lan Tai

Committee Member

Rondon-Aramayo, Oscar A.

Committee Member

Srinivasan, Radhakrishnan

Date of Degree


Document Type

Dissertation - Open Access


Applied Physics

Degree Name

Doctor of Philosophy


James Worth Bagley College of Engineering


Applied Physics Program


The Spin Asymmetries of the Nucleon Experiment (SANE) used the Continuous Electron Beam Accelerator Facility at Jefferson Laboratory in Newport News, VA to investigate the spin structure of the proton. The experiment measured inclusive double polarization electron asymmetries using a polarized electron beam, scattered off a solid polarized ammonia target with target polarization aligned longitudinal and near transverse to the electron beam, allowing the extraction of the spin asymmetries A1 and A2, and spin structure functions g1 and g2. Polarized electrons of energies of 4.7 and 5.9 GeV were used. The scattered electrons were detected by a novel, non-magnetic array of detectors observing a four-momentum transfer range of 2.5 to 6.5 GeV*V. This document addresses the extraction of the spin asymmetries and spin structure functions, with a focus on spin structure function, g2 (and g1) at low Bjorken x. The spin structure functions were measured as a function of x and W in four Q square bins. A full understanding of the low x region is necessary to get clean results for SANE and extend our understanding of the kinematic region at low x.



Bjorken||proton||spin structure function